Project 1: Multimedia Instruction ACET Standard 2.3

This week I submitted my first project in multimedia instruction. I chose to use the Google presentation assignment to create a tutorial for my students in the use of the Edmodo learning management system. I integrated multimedia principles on the priority of using both images and words to most effectively convey a concept. I aligned my verbal instruction tightly with the on-screen images to attend carefully to the contiguity principle. I tried to strictly minimize the occurrence of words on screen with spoken words. This project, in Google presentation, allowed a very slow-motion approach to addressing these principles. I think that’s a good way to implement principles when one is first learning. I see the value in using Google presentation to enhance a live presentation, and I like the way the integration of multimedia and contiguity principles helps to alleviate symptoms of “death by PowerPoint”. On the other hand, if I had chosen the best technology for presenting this particular piece of information, I would have chosen a screen capture tool, such as Camtasia. This reflects my own preference in learning how to utilize online technology. My favorite approach is to watch a video that I can pause and implement as needed. I also found the use of Google presentation to be far more time-consuming for an instructor than using a screen capture tool. It will be important to reflect upon the cost benefit ratio in terms of time when developing different presentations, in real time, for real instruction. The way that I like to do it, may not always be the best way to do it. I have watched colleagues prefer to learn from a slideshow or document rather than a video tutorial. I look forward to my presentation helping my students.

ACET Standard 2: DEVELOPMENT

Candidates demonstrate the knowledge, skills, and dispositions to develop instructional materials and experiences using print, audiovisual, computer-based, and integrated technologies.

2.3 Computer-Based Technologies Computer-based technologies are ways to produce or deliver materials using microprocessor-based resources.

This entry was posted in Design, Development, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Project 1: Multimedia Instruction ACET Standard 2.3

  1. Russell Nash says:

    Ginny,
    Your presentation looks good. Because of the nature of your training, you have a lot of screen shots. Mine is very similar. I find it kind of funny that the speaker notes featured in these presentation tools is essentially a violation of the contiguity principle. I agree with you about the limitations of Google Presentation. At the very least, I think an audio narration accompanying each slide would be better than the presentation alone. I’m sure we’ll have plenty of opportunities to do this as this semester progresses.
    -Russ

Leave a comment